A few weeks ago, Jason and I played a movie trivia game with some of our friends. As you may or may not know, I am extremely competitive, so I was sure to pay close attention to the clues given so that we could win, because I generally don’t view losing as an option. The next morning, I felt convicted about how I don’t always apply this same intensity, purposefulness, and alertness to what God is speaking to me through His Word. It wasn’t a condemning feeling, just a “gut check” on how much God desires our time and attention…and how this relationship with Him is always a win win. The conviction was out of a place of His loving desire to interact with His daughter throughout the day – and a merciful reminder to pay attention and be alert!

I was reminded of the passage in Matthew 13 where Jesus encourages the disciples – “But blessed are your eyes, for they see, and your ears, for they hear. For truly, I say to you, many prophets and righteous people longed to see what you see, and did not see it, and to hear what you hear, and did not hear it.” (verses 16 and 17)

What has God been speaking to you through His Word lately? We have been given eyes to see and ears to hear. God has made our hearts good and ready soil and has given us grace to not have dull hearts toward Him. How blessed we truly are to be alive in a time where the Spirit of God dwells within His people!

Oh, and we did end up winning the movie trivia game – mostly because I married a filmmaker/videographer who knows a lot more about movies than I ever will. 😉

