“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.” Revelation 3:20

Ask and keep on asking and it will be given to you; seek and keep on seeking and you will find; knock and keep on knocking and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who keeps on asking receives, and he who keeps on seeking finds, and to him who keeps on knocking, it will be opened.” Matthew 7:7-8 (AMP)

These verses are invitations from Jesus to come into relationship and communion with Him. Sometimes I think of my heart as a house with many rooms, each one having its own door. When this walk with the Lord started, I had no idea each season of life would bring with it new doors and new invitations from Him to explore the depths of His goodness while bringing freedom and growth in places I wasn’t even aware needed His touch. Giving Him permission to enter into our most vulnerable places isn’t always easy especially when some of us are really good at building walls to keep everyone out, God included! Time after time though, God is found faithful in “dining” with us in what we consider our weakest places…and He enjoys dining with us in this way!

One of these “rooms” that I’ve been walking through lately is being transparent with Jason about my own insecurities, and giving him permission to speak affirmation into those areas. Given my prior issues with trusting men, this feels like a monumental step toward healing. Unlike God, Jason doesn’t know the things I’m struggling with or the lies that creep around my mind unless I allow him to join me behind some of those walls that I’ve built up over the years. In similar fashion, Jesus asks to have permission to walk with us through life, assures us of our position in His family and reminds us of our purpose to love Him and love others radically. Not only that, but He gave His life to make this relationship possible. Although He already knows everything about us, He is delighted in being in consistent communication and fellowship with His daughters. And we are encouraged to keep asking, seeking, and knocking in response.

What doors on the rooms of your heart is God knocking on so that He can come in and dine with you? Is there anything holding you back from giving Him permission to do so? What comes to mind when considering what you have been asking, seeking and knocking on God’s doors about? I’m praying that these questions and the dialogue exchanged between you and God in these areas will be filled with joy and hopeful expectancy in what our loving Father has purposed for you in His will being done here on earth as it is in heaven.

