Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

This rest that Jesus offers is meant to be an consistent internal thing for us. One of the ways we rest is by laying our burdens down at His feet and choosing to take His easy yoke, recognizing that we cannot do the work He has called us to do without surrendering our all to Him. As I’ve thought about this recently, I realized that I have been “yoked” (see picture above) with heaviness and an overwhelmed feeling more often than I’d like to admit. Unfortunately, that does not allow me to live in the fullness Jesus promised in John 10 and is not a great witness to others. I cannot be in a place of rest with Jesus, nor help others pick up His yoke and experience His rest for themselves when I’m feeling overburdened with a heavy yoke that Jesus has not asked me to partner with. I don’t see this truth as condemning, but freeing. As we pick up His yoke and rest in His sovereignty, Word and ways, suddenly our heavy overburdened places are replaced with joy, gladness and a renewed attitude toward God, ourselves and others. Are there any “yokes” in your lives that need to be let go of so that you can partner with Jesus and take up His yoke?

