In the most unexpected moments, God steps in and reminds me of His very great and precious promises. Not too long ago while washing the dishes, part of Romans 8:24-25 came to mind. “For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” I have read and re-read that verse many times, but in that particular moment, the words brought peace in an area I had been asking about for months. We live in a dark and broken world, and there are heavy stories of wounding and trauma that we hear about on a somewhat consistent basis. Not to mention, whatever issues we are dealing with personally within our own spheres of influence.

If you’re anything like me, heavy topics and tough conversations can weigh on the heart which can lead to despair. So, I had been asking the Lord to show me hope. My heart’s cry was, “I can see the brokenness and hopelessness around me, and even in my own heart at times. But I read Your Word and You never change – please show me unwavering hope once again so that this heaviness will be removed.” I had been so focused on needing to visibly and tangibly see hope in action. I know that we do get to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living (Ps. 27) and I rejoice greatly in that – but – as I was washing dishes, the Lord brought the above passage from Romans to mind, and instantly the heaviness I had been feeling for months lifted off of me. It was such a simple, unassuming moment between a loving Father and dependent daughter. The hope we have is not rooted in anything we can see with our natural eye, but in the everlasting covenant God made with us when He sent Jesus to reconcile us back to Him. Our hope is rooted in Him. In context, the Holy Spirit is using Paul to explain that we are awaiting our full inheritance this side of heaven and we “groan inwardly as we wait eagerly” for the fullness of what He has promised to come true. Not only that, but in the waiting, we are given the gift of the Holy Spirit as a guarantee to encourage, teach, comfort, counsel and empower us to shake off heaviness and walk in His strength.

The next verse goes on to say, “Likewise, the Spirit helps us in our weaknesses. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.” Be encouraged, dear friends – the Most High God, the Holy One of Israel, the great I Am – has made it impossible for you to be alone in the battles of life. Even now, He is praying on your behalf.

